Mens Champions Trophy Final 2016. Australia v India


Hero Hockey Champions Trophy 2016: Australia Claim 14th Title• India produce stunning performance but edged out by Kookaburras in penalty shoot out.

  • Goalkeeper Tyler Lovell the hero in the shoot-out as Australia claim 14th Champions Trophy title
  • Olympic champions Germany take bronze over home favourites Great Britain thanks to Marco Miltkau 17 June 2016:Australia are the Hero Hockey Champions Trophy 2016 champions following a shoot-out victory over India in the showpiece final at the Lee Valley Hockey and Tennis Centre in London.

Goalkeeper Tyler Lovell was the hero of the hour, conceding just once in the shoot-out to help the World champions to glory.

A pulsating game finished with the score locked at 0-0, although it had been packed full of drama. Australia’s Blake Govers missed a penalty stroke, while India were dominant in the third and fourth quarter before losing the shootout.

Following an official protest from India against a situation which occurred in the shoot-out, there was a delay in the official confirmation of the result. The protest - in relation to an unintentional foul that had lead to the shoot-out being retaken - was rejected by the Technical Delegate.

Earlier in the day, Germany edged past Great Britain to win the bronze medal thanks to a solitary strike from tournament top scorer Marco Miltkau. It was a sad ending for the well-supported hosts, who gave it everything but could not find a way past inspired goalkeeper Nico Jacobi.

In terms of the individual awards, Germany’s Tobias Hauke was named as the best player in the competition, with Great Britain’s George Pinner taking the best goalkeeper award. India’s Harmanpreet Singh was named as the best junior player.

Final standings - Hero Hockey Champions Trophy 2016

1: Australia

2: India

3: Germany

4: Great Britain

5: Belgium

6: Korea

Individual Awards

Best player: Tobias Hauke (GER)

Best junior player: Harmanpreet Singh (IND)

Best goalkeeper: George Pinner (GBR)

Top scorer: Marco Miltkau (GER)

India 2budgie | Search Engine Optimised by SEO Today